Board Of Directors

Independent Diplomat is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organisation supervised by the following board: 


Stefanie Grant

Visiting research fellow at the University of Sussex; human rights lawyer and consultant; former director of research at Amnesty International and former Head of Research and Development Branch of the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Alice H. Henkin

Head of The Aspen Institute's Justice & Society Program; former chair of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York's Committee on International Human Rights; member of the Council on Foreign Relations; former board member of Human Rights Watch; Vice chair of the Europe and Central Asia division of Human Rights Watch and member of the Children's Rights and Africa division advisory committees; board member of Realizing Rights. 

Larry D. Johnson 

Adjunct professor at Columbia University's School of Law; former deputy legal counsel for UN; served as the legal adviser for the International Atomic Energy Agency in Vienna; served as chef de cabinet, Office of the President of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia in The Hague; formerly served in the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs. Previously taught at University of California School of Law and served as Visiting Professor of International Law at Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University. Member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the New York City Bar Association. 

Jan Krukowski (Co-Chair)

Was the founder and head of Jan Krukowski & Company, a firm that for forty years helped universities, cultural institutions, medical and research centers, public policy organizations, and an array of other nonprofits determine how best to promote their interests with donors and other key audiences.

Jennifer Lake (Secretary)

Legal advisor, Independent Diplomat; formerly on the legal staff of the United Nations, the Korean Peninsula Energy Development Organization and the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal; former counsel to New Zealand in the Rainbow Warrior Arbitration and former head of the division of the New Zealand Crown Law Office responsible for both international law and Treaty of Waitangi issues.

Victor Navasky

Publisher emeritus and former editor of The Nation; director of the Delacorte Center for Magazine Journalism at Columbia University; author of Kennedy Justice, Naming Names and A Matter of Opinion; co-author with Christopher Cerf of The Experts Speak: The Definitive Compendium of Authoritative Misinformation and board member of the Authors Guild, PEN and the Committee to Protect Journalists.

Aryeh Neier

President emeritus of the Open Society Foundations (president from 1993 to 2012); founder and former executive director of Human Rights Watch; former national executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union.  Served as an adjunct professor of law at New York University for more than a dozen years, and has also taught at Georgetown University Law School and the University of Siena. Since 2012, he has served as Distinguished Visiting Professor at the Paris School of International Affairs of Sciences Po. 

Scott Ogur (Treasurer)

CFO of Delaware Valley Financial Group; former CFO of Algorithmic Trading Management; former CFO and Chief Investment Officer of Scimitar, a private venture capital firm investing in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Iraq, Romania, Switzerland, and the U.A.E.; former portfolio manager at J.P. Morgan Private Bank; former auditor and accountant at Price Waterhouse, Chemical Bank and J.P. Morgan.

David Rieff

Writer and policy analyst; author of nonfiction books including Swimming in a Sea of Death: A Son's Memoir, At the Point of a Gun: Democratic Dreams and Armed Intervention, A Bed for the Night: Humanitarianism in Crisis, Slaughterhouse: Bosnia and the Failure of the West and The Exile: Cuba in the Heart of Miami and editor of Reborn: Journals & Notebooks, 1947-1963 and Crimes of War: What the Public Should Know.



Independent Diplomat is also a UK charitable company whose trustees include Stefanie Grant, Edward Mortimer, Carne Ross and Gardner Thompson.